Vanilla Friends

So, this is my first time on a forum but I need to get a balanced view, Ill try to give as much context as possible without rambling on too much
My SO and I started swinging back in January, it was her suggestion and of course I got on board after ensuring that there was no ulterior motive from her other than to add some fun to our relationship. We joined a couple of Swinging sites but never really had much luck, too many pic collectors and single men pretending to be a couple, you know the score yada, yada, yada.
We visited a local club and had a great time, everything was good and we got onto a site recommended by some people we met there. Following some social meets, and lots of chatting, we found a couple that we REALLY got on with both on an intellectual and a sexual level. We met up at our place and the night was fantastic, same room full swap, all good. The next morning, we did a bit of same room soft swap which I really enjoyed. I later found out that my SO didnt actually enjoy the latter because she didnt feel she connected to the guy, probably because she was sober and was nursing a hangover (her words, not mine). However, we agreed to carry on chatting with the couple but my SO became increasingly uncomfortable with how well I was getting on with the other lady. Ultimately, what could have been a wonderful 4way relationship ended in a train wreck! OK, put it down to experience and move on, neither of us wanted to go back to vanilladom especially my SO even though I suggested we stop it there and then.